Cebu Looks to Capture Spots in Phl Open Tchoukball Invt’ls

Host-Cebu teams are also looking forward to capture spots when the 2017 Philippine Open Tchoukball Invitational opens at the City Sports Club in Ayala Business Park, Cebu City tomorrow.

The 3-day international sporting event will feature the best teams in the world such as ranked #1 Taiwan for the men’s division followed by Singapore (#2), and Malaysia (#8).

For the women’s side, Taiwan remain on top of the world ranking; while Singapore is ranked #3 and Malaysia at #16.

The host will field Cav Butanding Cebu is bannered by Jon Mark & Jon Stephen Santamaria, Anrod & Kurt Russell Arreza, Abraham Ace & Asher James Quilaneta, Mark Learnedhand Garcia, Mark Adrian Acuna, Lander Florendo, Hector Dale Villamor, Patrick Palamine Jr., and Christian Nino Legario for the men’s division; while Jayme Less Moriles, Shennen Conde, Charisse Moreno, Gamalielle Mae Guitguten, Trixie Mae Baclaan, Henrelyn Villamor, Almyrah Acuna, Jhevy May Rodriguez, and Kyra Christine Lim for the distaff side.

Members of the Bunal Cebu Men’s team include: Jel Jlash Rodriguez, Thomas Alan Garcia, Ethan Antoine Estabas, Elde Van Jurado, Joshua Jay Taborada, John Daniel Atega, Jeiel Sande, Wayne Richmond Rivera, Albert Bernard Barlas, Jairo Llamera, and Brent Landanganon; while Maria Nina Sing, Angela Basco, Rinson Joy Taborada, Sandra Austine Macoy, Denise Ann Nadal, Eunice Besina, and Love Yap.

The top Filipino team will be given the opportunity to represent the country in the World University Tchoukball Championship in Malaysia on July, World Beach Tchoukball Championship in Taiwan & World Youth Beach Tchoukball Championship in Indonesia on August, and the Southeast Asian Championship in Thailand on October.

It was recalled that the Bacolod City-based girls settled second runner-up during the 4th Asia Pacific Youth Tchoukball Championship held last year in Taoyuan City, Taiwan.

They just fell short against the stronger Singapore side in the semis, 31-22 but defeated China, 30-28 to rule the battle for third. Host-Taiwan dropped Singapore in the finals, 49-25 to win the title.

Back in 2015, the Christian Academy of Bacolod U18 squad also represented the Philippines in the 4th World Youth Tchouckball Championship on August 13-16 at Pasir Ris Sports Centre in Singapore.* (James G. Toga)