2nd PCL National Cooperative Summit Opens Today

The 2nd PCL National Cooperative Summit and General Assembly begins today at the SMX Bacolod and Summit and General Assembly.

BACOLOD CITY Councilor Wilson Gamboa, Jr. welcomes Councilor Benito Brizuela, PCL National Credit Cooperative National Treasurer and Councilor Gina Perez, PCL Credit Cooperative General Manager last August 18, 2015 to the 2-day Basic Cooperative Course held at the Technology Business Incubation Center (TBIC) at the Cyber Center in Bacolod.*

Director Councilor Wilson Gamboa, Jr. yesterday said that “After several postponements finally, the 2nd Philippine Councilors League National Credit Cooperative Summit and General Assembly is now here.

“The opportunity that we, PCL members can become members of the PCL Credit Cooperative, can now be realized by sheer attendance to this Summit,” he said.

He added, “The theme, `Kooperatiba ng PCL ay Palakasin, Mga Kasapi, Paramihin’ is relevant to our thrust which is to hasten the growth of the Cooperative and make this privilege available to all whether retired or incumbent including spouses and family members.”

Gamboa explained that the Regular Board of Officers were elected at the 1st PCL Credit Cooperative Summit, Special General Assembly and Election in Boracay, Crown Regency Hotel last October 17, 2014; however, the PCL Credit Cooperative became operational last June 10, 2015 after the new set of officers took their Oath and Assumption of Office held at SMX, Davao City.

The Regular Board of Officers are as follows:

Carmen Remedios Durano-Meca Chairperson

Wilson Gamboa Vice Chairman

Myrna Ortiz Secretary

Benito Brizuela Treasurer

Melissa Abadeza Member of the Board

Bernard Hao, Member of the Board

Cyril Yap, Member of the Board

Victor Jun Ferrer, Member of the Board

Elmer Datuin, Member of the Board

Serafin Bernardino, Member of the Board

Edgar Noel Castillo, Member of the Board

Ariel Arceo, Member of the Board

Raul Corro, Member of the Board

Arvin Tolentino, Member of the Board

Antonio Quano, Jr., Member of the Board

Wilson Uy, Member of the Board

Beethoven Bermejo Member of the Board

Gamboa said that “Bacolod City is privileged and honored to host this year’s Cooperative Summit. I would like to extend my congratulations to the interim officers of the PCL Coop led by Councilor Jesus Manuel C. Suntay for pursuing the creation of the PCL Credit Cooperative. To the new set of officers led by Councilor Carmen Remedios Meca, we challenge ourselves to adhere to the objectives and ideals of the PCL Coop. May we all continue to support and cooperate in pursuing the objectives of the cooperative.”

He also said, “I extend my sincerest appreciation to all those who participated and attended the Summit. I am likewise extending my thanks to Mayor Monico O. Puentevella, Governor Alfredo G. Marañon, Jr., sponsors, donors, Bacolod City staff and employees and to my fellow Bacolod City councilors namely: Jocelle Batapa-Sigue, Claudio Jesus “Kalaw” Puentevella, Sonya Verdeflor, Ann Marie Palermo, Em Ang, Archie Baribar, El Cid Familiaran, Alex Paglumotan, Roberto “Bobby” Rojas, Caesar Distrito, Carl Lopez and Noli Villarosa.

“The PCL Coop is one of the flagship programs of the Philippine Councilors League and the Cooperatives have always been partners in poverty alleviation and nation building. Our PCL Coop network is continually growing with more people understanding that through the spirit of `cooperativism’, we can all contribute to socio-economic change,” Gamboa also explained.*



Negros Occidental :