Bacolod SP Congratulates Laguna Palaro Medalists

The Sangguniang Panlungsod of Bacolod City has congratulated Bacolod City medalists in the last Palarong Pambansa held in Sta. Cruz, Laguna last May 4 to 10, 2014.

Governor Alfredo Maranon, Jr. and DepEd Superintendent Juliet Jeruta hand out the cash incentives to Palarong Pambansa 2014 medalists from Negros Occidental at the Capitol Social Hall as Executive Assistant for Sports Angel Verdeflor looks on. A total of P670,000 was given to athletes, who won gold, silver and bronze medals during the recently-concluded school-based sports conclave.* (Capitol PIO Photo)

Authored by Councilor Wilson Gamboa, Jr. and co-authored by Councilor Kalaw Puentevella, the Bacolod Sangguniang Panlungsod (SP) passed the resolution during its May 28, 2014 regular session congratulating and appreciating the Bacolod City athletes which is part of the Western Visayas contingent.

The SP Resolution read, "The Bacolod athletes must be accorded with due honor and respectful salute for showing to the whole Philippines the values and new brand of sport heroism displayed in the competitions."

The Bacolod City delegates were headed by Department of Education (DepEd) Superintendent Ma. Gemma Ledesma. They contributed six gold medals, two silver medals and three bronze medals in various sports events. The Philippine Councilors League – Bacolod (PCL-Bacolod) beneficiary Alexis Soqueño, a 3rd year high school student of Romanito Maravilla National High School made the most remarkable performance by eclipsing the Palarong Pambansa secondary boy’s high jump with a leap of 1.92 meters erasing the old record of Paul Martinez of Southern Tagalog of 1.90 meters set in 2002.

Soqueño eclipsed his personal record two weeks later in the 2014 Philippine National Games (PNG) in Manila with a leap of 1.96 meters.

All the above awards described by the Gamboa-Puentevella resolution as "hard work, discipline, sportsmanship and triumph against all odds" contributed in catapulting Western Visayas Region third place among 17 participating regions.

Other medalists for Bacolod City were Jose Jerry Beli-bestre, Jr., also a junior high school student of the same school dominated the secondary boy’s gold long jump with a leap of 7.08 meters; Joycie Beranio as member of the secondary girl’s 4 X 100 relay to win the gold; Lynch Mananquil of Educational Training Center School 2 for winning the silver in 200 meters and bronze 400 meters elementary boys.

In the team event, the many times Palarong Pambansa softball champion from Domingo Lacson National High School by retaining the title after losing it in Tarlac to National Capital Region in 2011; the elementary boy’s arnis for winning the gold; the secondary girl’s table tennis also for winning the gold medal; a silver medal for elementary girl’s arnis; and bronze medals for elementary girls’ table tennis and elementary boy’s swimming.

Meanwhile, a total of P670, 000.00 cash incentives were given to Palarong Pambansa medalists by the Provincial Government headed by Gov. Alfredo G. Marañon, Jr.

Marañon congratulated all the athletes for trying their best and acknowledge their dedication and sacrifice.

A total of 80 gold, 45 silver and 60 bronze medals were given cash incentives equivalent to P5, 500 for gold; P3, 500 for silver and P 2, 000 for bronze in the regular sports.

For special events and demonstration sports were given P3, 000 for gold; P2, 000 for silver and p1, 000 for bronze medals.

Western Visayas placed third overall wi32 gold, 33 silver and 38 bronze medals.

NCR was the overall champion with 107 gold, 64 silver and 56 bronze medals; host CALABARON placed second with 38-51-51; 4th is Central Visayas with 24-27-41; 5th is CARAA with 24-11-12; Northern Mindanao, 21-21-31; SOCKSARGEN, 15-17-30; DavRAA, 10-20-21; BRAA, 9-6-22; Central Luzon, 8-11-22; Ilocos, 8-9-14; CARAGA, 5-8-9; CAVRAA, 4-13-11; Eastern Visayas, 4-8-8; MIMOROPA, 4-5-11; ARMM, 1-1-4; and Zamboanga Peninsula, 0-5-10.

In the Special games, CALABARZON 15-9-4; DavRAA, 10-12 7; Ilocos, 8-6-9; WVRAA, 8-4-5; CARAA, 5-2-2; NCR, 4-7-7; ZPRAA, 4-2-2; CL, 2-2-1; SCRAA, 1-2-3; CVI, 1-1-3; NBM, 1-0-3; CAVRAA, 0-2-0; CAVRAA, 0-0-3; Bicol, 0-0-1. * (CMGarde)



Negros Occidental :